Click here to view my short biography.

The Jen Wilson Ensemble is available for bookings for gigs, festivals, jazz and literary events.

The Jen Wilson Trio, Quartet and Quintet, featuring Elissa Evans in the best of blues, swing and jazz standards, available for bookings for gigs, events and festivals.

Before Freedom the schools touring package with live music and images telling true stories of Welsh women anti-slavery pioneers in Cincinnati USA and featuring Christian Rae as Willis the Runaway Slave, is available for bookings.

'Twelve Poems' Personnel

Paula Gardiner : Double bass
Cris Haines : Trumpet, flügelhorn, ocarina, arranger
Margot Morgan : Vocals
Mark O'Connor : Drums
Chris Ryan : Alto, tenor, soprano saxes, clarinet
Jen Wilson : Piano, composer


When I Woke
A Process in the Weather of the Heart
Shall Gods be Said to Thump the Clouds
Before I Knocked
Especially When the October Wind
Do Not Go Gentle into that Goodnight
This Bread I Break
On a Wedding Anniversary
The Force that Through the Green Fuse
Here in This Spring
When Once the Twilight Knocks No Longer
Fern Hill

About The Dylan Thomas Jazz Suite

It took a lifetime to appreciate the aesthetics of Dylan Thomas's poetry and eighteen months to nurture the progeny Twelve Poems, helped considerably by Cris Haines who patiently deciphered my chords and scribbles. Although some of Dylan Thomas's poems were more accessible to me than others, it was the fear of textual intimidation that initially barred my path. It was only when I happened to open his Collected Poems while seated at the piano that I made the connection into literary bebop which had time signatures, and freeform verse patterns which did not. Dylan Thomas was, of course, a man of the beat generation who threw a line as fancy as Charlie Parker and understood spaces as deft as Thelonious Sphere Monk. Margot Morgan delivers the poems with dexterity.

Follow Jazz Heritage

Catch up with us on Facebook